Airlangga University Best Campus Of Indonesia


Nusantara Story, one of the top 10 best campuses in Indonesia is Airlangga University. Here's the full history.

The establishment of Universitas Airlangga in 1954, hereinafter abbreviated as UNAIR, cannot be separated from the long journey of higher education in Indonesia. The forerunner of the university in Indonesia was "Doctor Djawa School" (School of Javanese Doctors), established in Batavia in 1851.

In the course of history, the institution was reorganized into the School Tot Opleiding van Indische Artsen (STOVIA) in 1902. Eleven years later, based on the Government Decree "Besluit van de Gouverneur van Netherlandsch Indie" Number 4211 dated May 8, 1913, established the School of Doctors in Surabaya named Netherlandsch Indische Artsen School (NIAS). Located at Jl.Kedungdoro 38 Surabaya. NIAS was inaugurated on July 1, 1913, while its education began on July 15, 1913. In 1928, the School Tot Opleiding van Indische Tandartsen (STOVIT) was founded as a school for dentistry.

In the Japanese colonial period, both STOVIA in Jakarta and NIAS in Surabaya closed in 1942, then merged into "Ika Dai Gaku". After the end of Japanese power in 1945, the Indonesian government took over and renamed it a Medical College. But at the time of aggression, the college was closed, and in 1948 it was replaced with Faculteit derGeneeskunde Surabaya Branch as a branch of the Faculty of Medicine UniversitetIndonesia.

Only then based on Government Regulation No. 57 of 1954 concerning the Establishment of Airlangga University as of November 1, 1954, the Faculty of Dentistry and The Institute of Dentistry in Surabaya was separated from its "parent" namely Universitet Indonesia. On November 10, 1954, President of Ridr. Ir. Soekarno inaugurated the establishment of Airlangga University as the third State University (PTN) in Indonesia after the University of Indonesia and Gadjah Mada University.

At the time of its establishment, Universitas Airlangga as a pioneer PTN in eastern Indonesia consisted of five faculties, namely the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of Dental Medicine, the Faculty of Law domiciled in Surabaya (FHUGM Branch), the Faculty of Teacher Training and Education domiciled in Malang, and the Faculty of Literature domiciled in Denpasar-Bali. Of the five founding faculties of UNAIR, two faculties existed before World War I, namely the Faculty of Medicine from NIAS in 1913 and the Faculty of Dentistry from STOVIT in 1928. The name Airlangga, because Airlangga which means "The Keeper" is a very famous king in the XI Century. The king is wise and wise, capable, and able to unite the region in eastern Indonesia.

In the course of time, the Faculty of Teacher Training and Education in Malang developed as the embryo of the establishment of the Institute of Teacher Training (IKIP) Malang and is now the State University of Malang (UM). While the Faculty of Literature in Denpasar then released from Airlangga University and became part of the history of the establishment of Udayana University.

Universitas Airlangga continues to grow by adding a new faculty, namely the Faculty of Economics (1961) which comes from the Surabaya College of Economics. It has since become the Faculty of Economics and Business. Faculty of Pharmacy (1964), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (1972), Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (1977), Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (1982) currently the Faculty of Science and Technology, Graduate Faculty (1982) later changed its name to Postgraduate Program and currently becomes Graduate School. Faculty of Non Degrees of Health (1984), but later abolished and integrated into the Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry, and Faculty of Public Health

established in 1993. Faculty of Psychology (1993), Faculty of Literature (1998) which since 2008 changed to Faculty of Cultural Sciences. The establishment of the Faculty of Nursing (2008) as a development of the Nursing Science Study Program at the Faculty of Medicine, Universitas Airlangga, as well as the Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Affairs (2008) as a development of the Fisheries Aquaculture Study Program at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. The Vocational Faculty was established in 2014. Previously, various vocational study programs (diplomas) were carried out under the coordination of other faculties.

Universitas Airlangga obtained the status of State University (PTN) of State-Owned Legal Entity (BHMN) based on Government Regulation (PP) Number 30 of 2006 concerning the Establishment of Airlangga University as a State-Owned Legal Entity (BHMN). Then based on higher education law No. 12 of 2012 Universitas Airlangga is among seven PTN-BHMN that are entitled to bear the statute as PTN Legal Entity (PTN-BH). Furthermore, the statute of Universitas Airlangga itself has been dropped based on Government Regulation of the Republic of Indonesia Number 30 of 2014 concerning the Statute of Airlangga University.


The names of rectors who have been and are leading Universitas Airlangga are:

1. Prof. Mr. A.G. Pringgodigdo. [1954-1961]

2. Prof. Dr. Moh. Toha. [1961-1965]

3. Kol. CKH. Chasan Durjat, SH. [1965-1966]

4. Prof. Dr. Dr. Eri Sudewo. [1966-1974]

5. Prof. Dr. Kwari Setjadibrata. [1974-1975]

6. Prof. Abdul Gani, SH., MS. [1976-1980]

7. Prof. Dr. dr. Marsetio Donosepoetro. [1980-1984]

8. Prof. Dr. Soedarso Djojonegoro. [1984-1993]

9. Prof. Dr. H. Bambang Rahino S. [1993-1997]

10.Prof. Dr. H. Soedarto, DTM&H., Ph.D. [1997-2001]

11.Prof. Dr. Med. Dr. H. Puruhito. [2001-2006]

12.Prof. Dr. H. Fasich, Apt. [2006-2015]

13.Prof. Dr. Mohammad Nasih, SE., Mt., Ak., CMA [2015-present]

Internasional Programs Website :

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post